Posted by: HAT | April 27, 2015

Sheep and Grapes

a Van Gogh painting of a shepherd with a flock of sheep under a stormy sky

These sheep seem to be in danger of getting wet

Hi, Gang!

The Revised Common Lectionary is giving us metaphors of sheep and shepherds, vines and branches this Easter season.

Our wonderful pastor gave us lots of new information on sheep this Sunday, including that they have fragile bones and can barely bear any burdens at all, which is why they don’t like to get wet! Sheep are not as stupid as people think.

Anyway … now he is on vacation for a week, and we will be having a pinch-hitter preacher on Sunday, May 3. I am starting to wonder in earnest what that pinch-hitter is going to say.

Sunday, May 3 is the anniversary of Dad’s going to pulmonary rehab, so also of me driving through Louisville on DERBY DAY (wouldn’t normally be my first choice of an activity, but it was for Dad; really, it wasn’t that bad) … it was a hopeful day.

The gospel of the day is John 15:1-8 – “the vine and the branches.” I had to memorize it when I was in 4th grade. “I am the vine, and you are the branches.”

Thinking about grapes and vines always makes me think about my dad. Dad worked on grape vines a lot when he was growing up in the Central Valley of California, and talked to us about it a lot: turning trays for raisins, pruning vines, maybe picking grapes, but I’m not so sure about that.

I am also not so sure it was a good idea to agree to preach before I remembered all that.

Leave a Reply

Categories

