Posted by: HAT | February 27, 2015

Abandonment Issues and Priorities

topos

Not how the church looks on a snow day

Hi, Gang!

Sorry about that. I so admire people who can teach a class and blog at the same time. I’m not one of them, evidently.

I was placed “under care” on Saturday – Presbyspeak for being admitted to the formal process of discerning a call to pastoral ministry.

It takes a long time and a lot of practice to be really good at anything. I have changed majors so many times in my life that I have not put in that kind of time and practice on any of them. That’s one kind of story, one kind of biographical plot. And here I am doing it again – same tune, different verse.

Because that is one of the things it is, maybe not the only one. Hopefully, I suppose, not the only one.

Here’s a factoid for this Friday: in 2013, there were 10,038 PC(USA) congregations; there were 12,461 active PC(USA) ministers. Not all of them serving churches, obviously.

Leave a Reply

Categories

