Posted by: HAT | November 28, 2014

Feeling: Nikki Giovanni’s Chasing Utopia

image of cover of Chasing Utopia - shows the author, Nikki Giovanni, sitting on stacks of books looking at a globe

A Hybrid

Hi, Gang!

For the second time recently I was pointed towards Nikki Giovanni’s “hybrid” Chasing Utopia, which seems like it ought to be especially relevant to me, so I took the HINT and read it. Fortunately. Because now I have been graced by reading her wonderful, clean poetry and her deceptively seemingly casual prose reminiscences and by delight.

I already knew that Utopia is many things, but now I know it is more closely related to beer, that sign that God loves us and wants us to be happy, than I hitherto realised.

She says things that seem true to me, like “Tragedy can only be calmed by love and laughter …” so I am willing to consider more deeply other things she says that I do not immediately understand or agree with. I love “Allowables.” She says much about “paying attention,” returning to that theme over and over again, noting its relationship to life, to poetry, to justice, to kindness, to happiness, to humanity.

Thanks to Nikki Giovanni for chasing utopia, including the one that is in the heart, the mind, and the soul.

Leave a Reply

Categories

