Posted by: HAT | November 4, 2014

Why I Vote

image of women being taught to vote, with signs in Yiddish and English

Voting is a gesture of participation in the hopes and dreams of the past, a way of keeping them alive in the direction of the future

Hi, Gang!

I’m going to vote today.

I’ll do it because I want to keep faith with my foremothers, and because of the principle “use it or lose it,” and because I believe that we are responsible for doing what we can in the situations in which we find ourselves, however little that may be, if not to make things better then to keep from making things even worse.

I’ll do it despite knowing and agreeing with Emma Goldman’s estimate of the transformative potential of voting in regular elections: “If voting changed anything, they’d make it illegal.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

