Posted by: HAT | October 28, 2014

What Qualifies as Closing?

an image of two plecostomus fish in an aquarium

Omnivorous, but ice cream and candy corn are not really recommended

Hi, Gang!

I closed on Mom and Dad’s house yesterday.

It was cordial, and anti-climactic. While it isn’t the very last thing that needs to be done, it is one of the last things, and is certainly one of the last big things. I probably should have arranged for a celebration or something that would properly externalize the emotional complexity of the event. I am starting to understand why people have meals after the ceremonies that mark major life events: funerals, weddings, christenings, and maybe, in retrospect, selling your parents’ home. You eat, you talk, you process what you’re going through, you put a name to it, you acknowledge it, you make it real.

I didn’t think I needed to do that. Instead, I emailed my brother. I went and paid the last water and sewer bill, because the last check had evidently gotten lost in the mail, and the deadline to pay before disconnection was yesterday, although yesterday was also the last day for the account, so maybe I needn’t have been concerned. I went to the bank and said hi to the nice young man who set up the estate account and deposited the check for the net proceeds. I drove home. I stopped at Panera Bread on the way and ate a sensible salad for lunch, and went to the pet store across the street and bought an albino bristle-nosed plecostomus that I pray will thrive on the algae in the aquarium and coexist with the Beloved Betta. I made dinner. I commiserated with the challenge of studying for internal medicine boards; they are Friday, and we are all trying to be supportive. I drove Number One Daughter to swim practice, and back home in time to watch Jane the Virgin, which she is totally old enough to watch.

Then, I ate a pint of ice cream and a bag of candy corn and fell asleep in the living room.

Leave a Reply

Categories

