Posted by: HAT | December 17, 2009

On The Question Concerning Technology

Image of Troy burning

The horse itself was an example of techne

The Greeks are the villains of western civilization.

[I hasten to add, I don’t mean contemporary people with a particular ethnic or national identification. Rather, the orientation towards reality expressed in the language and philosophy and form-of-life that has dominated the western mind since Socrates.]

So, when I meets a philosopher who exalts The Greeks, and who takes the Greek etymology of this and that concept as the index of Truth, I put my hand on my wallet and watch my back. “I fear The Greeks even when they are bearing gifts.” Laocoön was right, as we know.

My sympathies always lay with Andromache.

Leave a Reply

Categories

